RSS Feed

Tomato Salsa

Posted on

Ok so not long after I started this blog a lady called Deb asked me to find her a salsa recipe for on crackers or with fajitas etc and I have been on the hunt ever since. I have tested a couple and looked over and over again, all of them contained loads of oil or breadcrumbs or sugar etc which isn’t very useful to us “pointers”.

BUT a few days ago I stumbled across this American recipe for a tomato salsa on one of my favourite recipe websites – http://www.food.com

I knew instantly that I should try it as the only “pointy” ingredient in it was sugar but the lady also said that if using cherry tomatoes or on the vine tomatoes you can omit the sugar as the tomatoes are sweet themselves (bonus).

The recipe makes about 2-3 pints of salsa which I am aware is alot, but it freezes well and is low points so you can have it handy for when you fancy some chips and dips etc. If you do decide to freeze it just pop it in an air tight container and bobs your uncle.

The recipe is relatively chunky so if you like it a little smoother just chop your veg finely and if you want it a little hotter add a couple more chillies!

So here it is, about 8 months late but I haven’t forgotten about you Deb, its just taken alot longer than expected….

 

Tomato Salsa

5 Pro Points for the entire recipe…

If serves more than 10 it is ZERO Pro Points, less than 10 is ONE Pro Point!

Prep Time: 40 Minutes

Cooking Time: 20 Minutes

 

Ingredients:

4 Cups Tomatoes (Cherry Or Vine), Chopped & Drained

1 1/4 Cups Onions, Chopped

3/4 Cup Green Pepper, Chopped

1/2 Cup Chilli’s, Chopped (de-seed if you want mild)

3 Garlic Cloves, Crushed

1 Teaspoon Ground Cumin

1 Teaspoon Ground Black Pepper

2 Teaspoons Salt

40ml Vinegar

215 ml Tomato Passata

170 g Tomato Puree

 

Method:

  1. Mix all ingredients together and bring to a slow boil for 20-30 minutes.
  2. Allow to cool and pop into jars or into air-tight containers to freeze.
  3. Serve with anything you fancy.

 

I am tempted to try this with chopped tomatoes out of a can so I will let you know how it goes, although it probably will spoil the flavour.

I hope it was worth the wait, and if not I will keep on looking!

Happy Cooking 😀

Sarah xx

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

One response »

  1. Hi Sara I have made this dish “raw” apart from the puree so it turns out to be less points apart from a couple of teaspoons of olive oil which you would have to point/. It does not keep so long or probably freeze but I use it alot for BBQ;or on fish, meat and chicken. ? You can also add whichever herbs or aromatics you like Karen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

