RSS Feed

Ham & Cabbage Hash

Posted on

I’m currently sat on the sofa watching Great British Menu ❀ and babysitting my little doggy!

She went into the vets this morning to be spayed and we picked her up at 6:20pm. Since then she hasn’t moved whatsoever! In fact I have to keep checking that she’s breathing. She’s completely drowsy and it seems the anesthetic has hit her pretty hard. If she isn’t more lively in the morning I have to pop herΒ  back to the vets, so fingers crossed she’s feeling better soon πŸ™‚

As for the food, I cooked this dish about 2 weeks ago and the night seemed to be a total disaster.

My partner had cleaned the oven immaculately (bless him, he’s so good) but it appeared he hadn’t quite read the instructions and had sprayed the foam onto the grill bars also, when you aren’t actually supposed to.

So after making this recipe and popping it into the dish to be grilled. I turned on the grill and it started snowing in the oven and the most horrendous smell of chemicals came wafting out at us. I left it for a few minutes thinking it would burn it off, but it just carried on.

Failing that I knew my microwave has a built-in grill but I had never used it before. SO when the large dish the recipe was in wouldn’t fit into the microwave I had to spoon it out into smaller grill-able dishes. I popped one into the microwave and pondered over the buttons on the front, when I figured out how the grill worked I switched it on. Walked away from the microwave and then noticed smoke pouring out of it.

I ran back over to it and opened the door where clouds of smoke escaped out, I thought I had done something wrong! It turns out that when my house-mate exploded a pot of Tomato soup in there a few weeks ago. It REALLY exploded and sent soup firing up through holes in the roof of the microwave where the grill bars are. So when I turned it on it, the soup burnt onto the bars – not good!

So, for my last attempt I was going to use my cooking blow torch to “grill” the top and then I couldn’t find it 😦 well the recipe has to be grilled so I cling filled them up popped them in the fridge. Feeling incredibly defeated, annoyed and frustrated I gave up and went to KFC. Naughty I know but I was past caring at this point and my oven had snow everywhere.

When we did eat it the next day, it was LUSH and my partner liked it even though he hates cabbage.

So here it is πŸ™‚ hope you have less disasters if you try to cook it!

 

Ham & Cabbage Hash

Pro Points Per Serving: 9

You will also need to point your baked beans and sauce!

Serves: 4

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cooking Time: 35 Minutes

 

Ingredients:

1kg Potatoes, Unpeeled & Cut Into Cubes

25g Low Fat Spread

1/2 Savoy Cabbage, Shredded

1 Medium Onion, Roughly Diced

100ml Vegetable Stock

175g Boiled Gammon Joint

Baked Beans To Serve

 

Method:

  1. Cook the potatoes in a large pan of salted water until tender, drain then allow to steam dry for about 3 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, melt half of the butter in a large non-stick frying pan, then throw in the cabbage and onion and fry for 2 minutes.
  3. Add the stock and cook for 5 minutes more until the veg is starting to soften.
  4. Stir in the ham and potatoes and stir well. Cook for 8 minutes until softened.
  5. Heat you grill to high.
  6. Place your mixture in a grill-able bowl or pot and dot the remaining butter on top of the hash (you can give them a spray with low-fat cooking oil too for extra colour), then flash under the grill until golden and crisp.
  7. Serve with baked beans and brown sauce or ketchup.

 

This was so yummy and went incredibly well with baked beans.

Not your typical cabbage dish either, it was filling, extremely healthy and tasty. This will definitely be one of your regular meals.

Happy Cooking πŸ™‚

Sarah xx

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

3 responses »

  1. This sounds lovely hun. Roughly how much onion? The method includes it but not the ingredients. I know it’s probably personal preference but I’m a right ‘stickler’ when it comes to stuff like that πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

