RSS Feed

Lamb Dhansak

Posted on

Once again I am very sorry, I do seem to keep disappearing at the moment. My writing bug seems to have died, I had even stopped writing to my best friend who I normally write to daily.

It appears to be back though and I promise I will be here for at least a few days 😉

Something seems to be working for me at the moment as I managed to lose an astonishing 4lb which pushed me nicely over my 2stone barrier I have been stuck behind for weeks. I’m extremely pleased and more motivated than ever. So YAY!!

My best friend comes home in 6.5 weeks and I am hoping to loose another 11lb by then, we are going to be throwing her a surprise welcome home party and would love to have lost 3st in total by then. We will see!

The below recipe was nice but I would advise that only people who like lentils make it, you could definitely taste them quite strong through the recipe.

It was extremely filling and was great served with just a chapatti or a naan bread.

I cooked mine in my slow cooker as I was going out for the day, so it’s pretty versatile and the lamb was lovely and tender.

 

Lamb Dhansak

Pro Points Per Serving: 8

Plus some sort of Indian bread!

Serves: 4

Prep Time: 20 Minutes

Cooking Time: 2 Hours

 

Ingredients:

100g Red Lentils

500g Butternut Squash, Peeled & Chopped Into Chunks

2 Onions, Roughly Chopped

400g Tin Chopped Tomatoes

1 Teaspoon Turmeric

1.5 Teaspoons Cumin Seeds

1.5 Teaspoons Coriander Seeds

4 Cardamom Pods, Squashed

400g Lean Diced Lamb

2 Inch Root Ginger

4 Garlic Cloves

2-3 Green Chilli’s, De-seeded and finely chopped

1 Teaspoon Garam Masala

Small Bunch Coriander, Roughly Chopped

 

Method:

  1. Put the lentils, squash, onion and tomatoes in a pan with the turmeric and 1 tsp salt.
  2. Add water to just cover, then simmer gently for about 20 minutes until the lentils are tender.
  3. Put the cumin, coriander and cardamom in a small pan and toast until fragrant.
  4. Grind in a pestle and mortar or spice grinder.
  5. Heat a few sprays of low fat cooking oil in a pan, add the lamb in batches and brown all over.
  6. Scoop the meat out then pop to one side.
  7. Add the ground spices to the same pan. Cook for 2 minutes then stir in the ginger, garlic and chillies.
  8. Cook for a few minutes then add the lamb, lentils and squash and 200ml more water. Cover and simmer for 1 hour 30 minutes (remove cover for final 30 minutes) or until the lamb is completely tender and sauce thickened.
  9. Stir in the garam masala and coriander and serve with naan bread or chapatis.

 

I have a good 5 stunning recipes for you guys to try, I will post them up over the following few days. I hope that you are enjoying the stunning weather and making the most of it. Don’t forget that sun is great for your skin but always be careful and use SPF.

Happy Cooking 🙂

Sarah xx

 

 

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

Leave a Reply

