RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Crunchies

Posted on

P.S – This is one GIANT mug not tiny treats!

After watching the Hairy Bikers Bakeation the other evening I had the urge to bake something, at first I was going to bake my delicious carrot cake cupcakes…..

That changed after I pointed them though, they were 6 Pro Points before I even put the Cream Cheese frosting on them. You can’t really have carrot cakes without the frosting can you, that wouldn’t be very good!

So I got searching and got thinking about what sweet treats you can have for lowish points. This is what I came up with after coming across a recipe on an American website.

You will need either an electric whisk or stand mixer to create these.

Chocolate Chip Crunchies

Pro Points Per Serving – 3 Pro Points Per 5 Crunchies

Makes: Roughly 60

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cooking Time: 35 Minutes

 

Ingredients:

3 Large Egg Whites Or 9 Tablespoons Liquid Egg Whites

1/8 Teaspoon Cream Of Tartar

1/2 Cup Of Sugar

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

100g Milk Or Dark Chocolate Chips

 

Method:

  1. Heat your oven to 150 degrees.
  2. Line 2 or 3 large trays with parchment or greaseproof paper.
  3. In a large bowl mix together the egg whites and cream of tartar at a high-speed until they form soft peaks.
  4. Gradually add your sugar a little at a time, then add the vanilla and keep mixing until your mixture is glossy and forms stiff peaks. You should reach the consistency where you can tip the bowl upside down and it not fall out.
  5. Slowly sprinkle in the chocolate chips and fold them into the mixture extremely gently until they are well dispersed in the mixture.
  6. Either spoon or pipe heaped teaspoon sized blobs onto your parchment paper. I made just over 60 with my mixture.
  7. Pop them into your pre heated oven for 35-45 minutes depending how crispy you want them.
  8. Once removed from the oven allow to cool and keep in an air tight container.

 

These are lovely and quite sweet, my partner actually finds them too sickly to eat. If you have a sweet tooth like me they are satisfyingly sweet enough for 3 Pro Points and should help to stop the craving for naughty naughty things.

I did try these with white chocolate chips also but they actually burnt slightly within the mixture during the baking and turned them a little bitter so I would suggest sticking to the milk or dark!

These are soooo easy to make, especially if you have a stand mixture like me, all it involves is placing ingredients in and beating!

I will be making these again for definite as they keep my sweet tooth cured 🙂

Have a little go!

Happy Cooking 🙂

Sarah xx

 

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

One response »

  1. Those look absolutely adorable and wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

