RSS Feed

Running In Heels…

Posted on

Good Afternoon!

Today I am in a very peculiar mood I have to admit, it is a mood of motivation, yet also a very philosophical mood!

A while ago, I was reading a blog post on another blog which said that – 10 minutes of planning will save you 10-20 minutes later on down the line!

With WW, I am all too aware that planning can take longer than 10 minutes. BUT on the other hand, rather than saving you time, I think that planning on WW gives your peace of mind, and helps you lose the weight!

It is always the days when I don’t have something planned, or I deviate from the plan that I fall off track! And we all know that falling off track means a smaller loss at the scales. We all also know that when the scales aren’t very generous, or are too generous in the opposite direction, it is extremely disappointing and disheartening.

I believe in planning and tracking 100% and I feel sooo weird if I am not doing either of these. I have just come back from a weekend away with my other half where I didn’t watch what I ate particularly and I certainly didn’t track. I hated it!! I am also extremely glad to be back on track today and feeling back to normal. I decided I was going to enjoy myself whilst I was away and not to track, I didn’t fall off the wagon, I stepped off for a couple of days.

When I am at my meetings and our gorgeous leader asks  “What works for you?” nearly everybody responds with, ” I always lose when I bother to track!”

This completely baffles me, if you know it works then why on earth don’t you do it religiously! Most people at meetings are there for one of 2 reasons; to either maintain their great weight loss, or to lose weight. If you know that tracking results in weight loss. DO IT!

Ok, rant over!!

This also brings me on to my second point:

Motivation is what gets you started – Habit is what gets you there!

If you build yourself healthy/good habits now, this will just become normal and you will be loosing weight and making yourself healthier without even noticing. It will just be second nature. It is just as important to have a healthy mind as it is to have a healthy body!!!

When I say a healthy mind I don’t mean your going to turn into some super clever sod. What I mean is if you can train your mind into having a healthy relationship with food, you wont go wrong! This is also an invaluable lesson you can pass on to the rest of your family.

Don’t be scared of cakes or crisps etc, don’t see them as “treats”, if you view them as a treat you put it on a pedestal! When things are “treats” we see them as something that is out of reach and something you shouldnt have! We all know that we want, more than anything, is the things we are not meant to have! If you think you shouldnt have it, you are going to crave it!

When was the last time you craved a salad??? Not very often, and why is this? Because you know you can have it! If you include these nice foods into your diet as normal and count them just like you would everything else, you are less likely to crave them and therefore less likely to deviate from the plan to satisfy your craving!

Weight Watchers is a healthy eating plan and a healthy way to view foods. It is more of a lifestyle choice than a diet!

If you can adapt your life to involve your new healthy habits and routines then you are going to succeed in your weight loss and creating a healthier environment for yourself and if you have them, your children!

Every 2 weeks, I spend my evening planning my food for the next 2 weeks! I choose my recipes, I use the “Recipe Builder” on the Weight Watchers site to point them and I build a shopping list of exactly what I am going to need to create the next 14 recipes!

Once I have decided what I am going to eat, I write them out on my Menu Planner so that I and my partner know exactly what is for tea and if we need to get anything out of the freezer to defrost for the following day!

I would recommend that everybody should do this! It helps more than you could realise. Always knowing how many points your tea is going to cost you allows you to make better choices the rest of the day, which will in turn help you to stick to your points allowance!

It also helps with fighting hunger! If you have something planned you are less likely to come in from work and start raiding the cupboards etc for something that might not be much good for your points!

We all also know that when you have eaten something that has cost you alot of points but didn’t satisfy you, we all kick ourselves and wonder why on earth we did it!!!

If you have never planned before, give it a try, stick to it and see if it affects your weight loss at all. You will be surprised!

If you would like to see how I plan my menu or even print out my planner to use for yourself. You can do so here –

 

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_5kiY_xFJC1V1A0ZTd0a2hDYXc

 

So, next time you need a little motivation think of these:

Don’t give up what you want the most, for what you want right now!

If you feel like quitting, take a good hard think on why you started in the first place!

Don’t stop trying when you get it right, keep trying until you can’t get it wrong!

No matter how slow you go, you are lapping the people who won’t even try!

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts!

You’ve got what it takes and it may take everything that you’ve got!

 

Also remember that one of the hardest things with losing weight is starting your journey! You have already had the courage to do this, some of you may even have succeeded in reaching your destination! Either way, all the hard work will be worth it and you will be a much stronger person when you get there…

In the words of the stunning SIZE 16 Marilyn Monroe –

“We are all of us stars, and we deserve to twinkle.

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.”

Sometimes it may feel like you are running in heels, or maybe like you have hit a weight loss wall. Keep pushing forward, you may not be there yet, but you are closer than you were yesterday!

I will be back with another recipe this evening, maybe even one you could try out on your new menu planner!!

😀 😀 😀

Sarah xx

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

2 responses »

  1. THANK YOU!!
    I planned today but not my evening meal… I had planned to get home from work, exercise and then have the home made soup out the freezer… of course I got home, got distracted by the kitchen and ended up having half a loaf of bread AND my soup.
    I felt really bad that I had 2 chocolate bars – ok they were Weight Watcher bars but still there was no need… I ended up doing the exercise… possibly not as much as I should to work off the loaf of bread but at least I still did something…
    I have now planned the next 3 days after reading your post – and also printed your words and stuck them on my kitchen cupboard!!! x

    Reply
  2. Love the motivational words, like Nichola I was going to print then out and stick them on the fridge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

