RSS Feed

Chorizo Hash

Posted on

Good Evening Ladies & Gentlemen!

Tonight’s dinner was LUSH with a capital L,U,S & H! Yet so incredibly simple and only contained 7 very standard ingredients. It was so simple in fact, my other half says he would be more than confident cooking this for somebody else, on his own!

This recipe, like many others is 1 that I have had in my rather large green folder of – “to test recipes”. You may here me blabber on about this folder quite often, so I shall explain.

In short, it is an A4 bright green ring binder folder, that is separated into roughly 10 different sections from snacks to puddings and everything in between. All the main meals are separated into the “main ingredient”, so there is a section for chicken, a section for beef and so on. When I come across a recipe I like the sound of, I print it off and put it in my “to test” folder.

When I am meal planning I pull out my folder and plan from out of there 🙂 obviously sometimes I do make a meal I have done before but I try to test as many as possible. If the recipe is a winner once made, it comes both on here and in my “Recipe Bible”.

My “Recipe Bible” is very much the same as my folder, but everything has been tested and typed up with any alterations I have made etc. Every single recipe is Pro Pointed and in the correct section! One day I plan to actually get this book printed and binded and maybe even pass it on to my kiddlywinks shall I ever have any. This will not be for a very long time though.

 

Tonight’s tea was very much a winner and is ready to be shared with the world! Please do not be put off by the poached egg, it really was beautiful.

Before I actually get onto the recipe I am going to have abit of a natter about poached eggs!

I eat these regularly and have for quite a while, I love them on toast, with cooked breakfasts, on sandwichs etc and they went beautiful with the following recipe.

I have seen celebrity chefs cook poached eggs many a time and I have also experimented with their crazy fandangle ways of cooking them. NON I have ever succeeded with. I have tried doing it in a saucepan and making a whirlpool with the water before plonking the egg in. I have tried using sherry vinegar in the water, I have tried those little “poach pods” and all the crazy microwave ways of cooking them.

I just can’t get any of them to work, on the other hand I do get well cooked poached eggs every time! I wont say perfect as they aren’t the gorgeous little circles you see when the chefs do them but they don’t taste any different.

I simply bring a small-ish frying pan of standard H2O to a rapid boil and break in my egg, as close to the water as possible without it burning me! I always make sure the water is deep enough to completely submerge the egg. Once the white has turned to white and not crazy see through gelatinous stuff, I check that the yolk has changed colour all over so is stable enough to move. I remove from the water with a slotted spoon!

The yolk will change colour slightly, it goes from a bright orangey/yellow to a lighter one. If there is still a patch of the bright colour just push some water over it and wait for it to also change. Cook for longer if you want your yolk fully cooked through, I love mine runny!

 

Chorizo Hash With Poached Egg

Pro Points Per Serving: 12

Serves: 2

Prep Time: 10 Minutes

Cooking Time: 15-20 Minutes

 

Ingredients:

2 Eggs

100g Green Beans, Trimmed & Halved

125g Chorizo Sausage, Sliced Into Disks

1 Red Chilli, Deseeded & Finely Diced

300g New Potatoes, Sliced Into Disks

1/2 Bunch Fresh Parsley, Chopped

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

Low- Fat Cooking Spray

 

Method:

  1. In a sauce pan of boiling water, place your potatoes disks and cook for roughly 5-10 minutes, you want them to be cooked but still firm.
  2. Once cooked, drain and return to the warm pan to let them dry off for a few minutes.
  3. Whilst waiting for your potatoes to dry off slightly, you will need to cook your green beans for roughly 5 minutes in a pan of boiling water.
  4. Add your tablespoon of oil and a generous spraying of your cooking spray to a large frying pan. Place over a medium/high heat until the oil is hot.
  5. To the hot oil add your potatoes and fry off for 3-4 minutes, be careful as it may spit slightly at the beginning.
  6. After the 3-4 minutes add to the potatoes the chorizo, green beans, parsley and chilli. Continue to fry off all of the ingredients. You want the potatoes to have a nice brown crispy look about them.
  7. Whilst you are waiting for the potatoes to look like this, poach your 2 eggs with the method of your choice.
  8. Once looking crispy and lovely, serve your potato and chorizo mixture topped with a poached egg!

 

Whilst we were eating this me and my other half decided it would actually be really nice as a weekend breakfast/brunch. It could also possibly be classed as a tapas type dish. Either way it was amazing. Personally I wouldn’t try substituting the oil for anything as the cooking spray doesn’t quite give it that lovely golden colour. I used both oil and the spray as the recipe called for 2 full tablespoons of oil but that wasnt going to happen. With the spray it really didn’t need it though.It was also extremely filling and for 12 Pro Points was more than satisfying.

As for the chorizo, if you are lucky enough to live near a Lidl or an Aldi I would pop into there to buy it. You can buy a 300g ring of chorizo for roughly £3.00 and in Tesco or other supermarkets you can pay that much for a few poxy slices! Definitely worth a trip to Lidl…

Give this a try, its worth the dicing!

Happy Cooking 🙂

Sarah xx

About Sarah xx

I am a food loving 22 year old on a mission to share recipes and lose weight doing it!

Leave a Reply

